European Union | Objectives | Organizational Structure

Objectives of E.U

Generally, the objectives of the EU may be listed as follows:

1. The abolition of tariff and non-tariff quantitative and other restrictions with regard to the import and export of goods between the member States.

2. The abolition of all restrictions upon services and capital between the member states and the free movement of persons.

3. The establishment of common customs tariff and of a common commercial policy towards the non-member countries.

4. The establishment of common farm policy and common transport policy.

5. The establishment of a system to ensure that competition shall not be distorted in the common farm policy and common market.

6. Application and coordination of economic policies of the member states for remedying their balance of payment disequilibria.

7. The creation of European social fund for improving the possibilities of employment for the workers and for ensuring a rise in their standard of living.

8. The approximation of the legislation of the member states to the extent necessary for the efficient functioning of the common market.

Organizational structure of EU

The organizational structure of European Union is made up of

  1. The executive commission,
  2. The council of ministers,
  3. The European parliament,
  4. The court of justice,
  5. The economic and social committee, and
  6. The monetary committee.

1. The Executive Commission:

The executive commission of the European Union is the very important institution. It is independent of the national governments of the member countries. They have autonomy in their functions. The executive commission undertakes work in relation to initiation, evolution.and execution, of the economic policies of the community. The commission’s directives bind the members. It can overrule any policies of the member governments which contradict the desired objectives of the European union.

2. The Council of Ministers

The council of ministers is comprised of the foreign ministers of the member countries of European Union. This body takes major decisions on political issues.

3. The European Parliament

The European parliament is basically a consultative body. It consists of members representing the national parliaments of the member countries. On an average, it holds eight sessions in a year. Now the members of European union are selected by direct election.

4. The Court of Justice

The court of justice is situated in Luxembourg. Any disputes, arising out of the different provisions of Treaty of Rome are settled in the court of justice. It can overrule the decisions taken by the national courts on matters related to EU policies.

5. The Economic and Social Committee

The economic and social committee consists of the representatives from professional organizations, workers and employers.

6. The Monetary Committee

The monetary committee is constituted by experts and central bank officials of the member countries of the EU. It advises the executive commission and the council of ministers on international monetary.